Song of the Day 09/07/12: SOLA-MI – Mother Mother

This is a strange one.  SOLA-MI is a side project of Derek Webb, along with Josh Moore on production and Latifa Philips on vocals.  The album is called NEXUS (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), and I believe it is meant to accompany a movie.  But as far as I know, that movie doesn’t exist.  So I’m not 100% sure.  The song is equally as strange changing from subtle digital beeps, to a bursting chorus.  Unfortunately, the only video I could find also includes the intro track, “Keynote”.  “Mother Mother” starts at around 1:04.  I’m not sure what exactly is so special about this track, but I do know that it has been completely stuck in my head ever since I heard it last week.  Oh and you can download the whole album for free here: http://sola-mi.com/

What do you think?