The Journey Back Entry 7: Simon and Garkfunkel Are Pretty.

My last entry focused mostly on rhythm and blues rock that was starting to take over in the later half of 1964. Now I’m going to focus on something completely different. Lets talk about Simon and Garfunkel. Representing my old neighborhood, Queens, NY, Simon and Garfunkel were friends since elementary school and started recording music together in the ’50’s. They became interested in the New York folk scene around the time most everyone did in 1963 and recorded both originals and covers for their late 1964 debut album Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M. Shockingly, the album flopped mostly due to the rise of the Beatles and the shift in interest towards their sound. While it may have flopped for them in 1964, I loved it from the very first listen.

Simon and Garfunkel fit perfectly as a counterpart to Bob Dylan’s 1963-64 albums. To put it simply, in every way that Bob Dylan is raw and wild and rough, Simon and Garfunkel are produced and pure and soft. “Pretty” is the word that immediately comes to mind and I can honestly say I it is a not an adjective I would ever use to describe Bob Dylan’s folk. Unlike Dylan, both singers have beautiful voices that fit into one another in a lovely harmony. Their subject matter is also of a more pretty and pleasant nature. Straight off the bat with “You Can Tell the World” with its chorus about joy and victory. I tried to think about a happy song Dylan had put out at this point and came up empty (I’m sure there is one, just couldnt think of any off the top of my head. Is there?). I think the best examples of their differences are in songs they share. Look to their version of “Peggy-O” or their cover of “The Times They are A -Changin’ “. I also have to commend their song writing skills with amazing songs like “Sparrow” and “The Sound of Silence”. The album is sparse on instrumentation beyond finger picking and strumming guitars, with the exception of some bass and some great banjo on “Last Night I had the Strangest Dream.” I think this is definitely an album not to be missed from 1964 and it definitely brought joy, joy, joy into my heart. If Dylan brings you down, Simon and Garfunkel will pick you up out of that funk.

1964 – Wednesday Morning 3 A.M. Top 5 Highlights 

You Can Tell The World – I love the WAY this song is sung. The way they kind of talk sing through the lyrics, with little yelling moments and little quiet moments and this absolutely playful guitars that are just jumping around the room. Plus the harmonizing woo, woos are amazing. The lyrics bring me joy, joy, joy too. You have to be in a really bad mood for this song not to put a big beaming smile on your face.

Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream – Reminds me of “Imagine”, in the ending world conflict sense. It really ends up on the list because of the banjo. And because it has unicorns in the lyrics.

Bleeker Street – I love the way the chorus of “Bleeker Street” is sung. All the extended “eee” sounds in the song are just so… pretty. And so is the soft finger picking guitars.

Sparrow – This is my favorite new discovery of the album since I already know “The Sound of Silence”. I love the rhythm guitar in this song. The finger picking guitar is also legendary. And the way Simon and Garfunkel draw their voices over everything else… Every time they say “Not I!” i get crazy chills. Love this song.

The Sound of Silence – Obviously. The song that would eventually pull them into the spotlight. Here, it appears in its original form with just guitars. Does this really need a reason to be on here? Perfect. I think it shows off the production on the album best. The feeling of hollow space around the music is powerful. Like the music is stretching out into the corners of the universe. I love it.

My final 1964 album (With the exception of Joan Baez, who I kind of follow a little behind everyone else) is the Beatles Beatles for Sale. I’m not going to say its a bad album. I wont say that because even the worst of the Beatles is still lovely for the ears most of the time. I definitely dont feel like there was much progression between this and A Hard Days Night and the album suffers for it. It’s still nice to hear the Beatles harmonizing and jamming out and they do seem to be having SOME fun. On the whole though, I feel that this record feels a bit phoned in. After looking up some of the details on the recording of the album, it seems this was not far from the truth. The band was touring america and really starting to blow up. The album was recorded on the bands days off from tour over a 3 week period. The lack of time to write new music also resulted in more covers appearing on the album. Despite all this criticism, I still enjoyed listening to the album. It’s just that the Beatles standards are a little higher than everyone else.

1964 – Beatles for Sale Top Highlights

No Reply – Forget everything negative I just said in the previous paragraph when it comes to “No Reply”. I LOVE this song. Lennon is on top of his game here writing some amazing music. The song tells a simple story about a man trying to get in touch with his girl and knowing that shes lying to him because he sees her with another man. I love the sad feeling of the song and its minor key is just right.

I’m A Loser – Self deprecating song lyrics. Who cant get down with that? I read somewhere that this is Lennon being influenced by Dylan and I must agree. A simple song but a fun one none the less.

I’ll Follow the Sun – Short and sweet,  it always puts a smile on my face. Great vocal harmony too.

Eight Days A Week – I first heard and fell in love with this song back in a high school music theory class. So many little details make this song extra great. Obviously the “Hold me, love me” pre-chorus with the clapping is my favorite. That and the “lo o o o ove you” of the chorus.

That pretty much brings 1964 to a close. Each year seems to bring more and more music into the fold. The Beatles picked up their game with the powerful A Hard Day’s Night while Dylan pulled himself in opposing directions and released 2 very different albums that neither destroyed his reputation nor improved it. The Rolling Stones had a glorious debut ushering in a wealth of other wild and crazy rockers of varying degrees. The Beach Boys grabbed my attention and the Animals organ playing on “House of The Rising Sun” was a real treat. Joan Baez has kept up with diminishing returns. Lastly, Simon and Garfunkel open my eyes to a softer, prettier side of folk music. The Rolling Stones and Wednesday Morning 3 A.M. were probably my favorite releases of the year discounting A Hard Days Night since I’ve said before that I listen to the Beatles more as a measuring device since I already knew most of their music before this project.

I’m having a great time with this journey and I’m really looking forward to all the new music to be released in 1965! See you then!

What do you think?