The Journey Back Entry 3: The Beatles Write Songs! Joan doesn’t…

I promised I would talk about the next Beatles album here and I refuse to disappoint. Coming off my Joan Baez high, I thought it appropriate to check out the Beatles second 1963 release With the Beatles. This album dropped at the onset of Beatlemania so just picture thousands of screaming female fans around the Beatles while they play these songs. I was surprised by the general step up in some of the song writing on this one. Only six covers this time and a lot more Beatles originals which of course is good news. Their originals are always the highlights. The biggest difference for me on this album was the music itself which I think is already showing more depth than the simple pop songs of Please Please Me. Im a huge fan of minor keys and the Beatles have started to go a little further down that route. My favorite on the album is “All My Loving” which I find to be an absolutely lovely song. Maybe its because I’m in a long distance relationship myself. I thought it was funny that John Lennon was quoted as saying he was sad to admit he hadnt written it because it was a “a damn good piece of work”. The other standout for me is “Don’t Bother Me” which is apparently George Harrison’s first foray into song writing. I loved its darker nature and its anti-love song quality considering how much of the Beatles work was love songs at this point. Speaking of George Harrison as song writer, I’m sorry to say this but as much as I’ve heard the Beatles in the past, I’d never payed attention to who wrote or sang what. It is still hard for me to differentiate who is singing from song to song! That is why it is my goal during this journey back to make sure to pay attention to the individual artists. At this point Paul is my favorite writer.

So overall, I think With the Beatles is above and beyond Please Please Me, with better song writing and better performances. Each instrument feels so necessary well placed. That being said, the album still contains some lack luster stuff as well as covers so I’m still looking forward to the bands growth from this point. Hopefully The Freewheelin Bob Dylan will ignite their song writing hearts in new ways since I can only imagine the Beatles had to snatch that album up right away.

Also interesting to note, McCartney and Lennon wrote “I Wanna Be Your Man” while hanging out with the Rolling Stones and ended up giving them the song which would go on to become their breakthrough hit! I stumbled on to this quote and just started laughing:

“It was a throwaway. The only two versions of the song were Ringo and the Rolling Stones. That shows how much importance we put on it: We weren’t going to give them anything great, right?” – John Lennon

Ringo really doesnt get any love does he? I’ll definitely be checking out the Stones 64 debut soon enough.

1963 – With The Beatles Highlights

All I’ve Gotta Do – I love the bass on this one which I hear was a very important part of the writing process for the song as well. Probably my favorite Lennon track on the album.

All My Loving – Probably the fact that its about a long distance relationship is probably what gets me. Plus I love the guitar work, and the ooh oohs, things that really hold the beatles up in my mind. Plus Harrison’s solo.

Don’t Bother Me – As I mentioned earlier, Harrison’s first writing credit. So dark and wonderful. Cant wait for him to write more.

Not a Second Time  – I really like the piano parts on this one. Another one by Lennon. Apparently this is the song that made people start looking deeper into the Beatles song writing abilities. I just like the song.

Money – And finally the album closer. Yes it’s a cover but I really like this one. Its got this happy playful feeling while also having these really cool verses where the guitar drops out. I smile every time.

After such a wonderful experience with Joan Baez’s debut, I decided I should check out her 1961 follow up effort Joan Baez Volume 2. (Gotta love the creative album titles) Everything I felt about the first album was unfortunately completely lost on me this time around. Instead of being sucked in, I felt that I analysed every minute detail of her performance and came up wanting. Once again, all the songs are covers so maybe she just picked all her favorites for the first album and her second favorites here. I just wasnt as attached to the songs. I felt there was more emphasis on the stories and less on her voice and the music. To me, it sounded like she wasnt as passionate here, more going through the motions and she has a backing band of sorts that I didnt find interesting at all. Still, it didnt take away my love for her debut. It is possible that because Dylan evolved so much from his debut to his second album, I expected something similar from Joan. Instead I just got what felt like a B-sides record. Still this is only 1961 in her career so its possible her style will evolve once she hangs out with Bob and sees what he’s up to. I do plan to check out her 1963 live album which may better capture some of the debut’s passion I loved so much. (One can only hope) If not, I may give her a few years to cool off and check back in a few years down the road. For now, I can only say, dont miss out on the debut.

I’m pretty sure this will end my time in 1963 other than Joan’s live album. If there is one album I didnt check out fully in 1963, it would probably be the Beach Boys. I may wait a couple years to check them out. If you’re a fan of 1963 and see an album I overlooked, feel free to leave recommendations in the comments. 1964 is definitely going to get more expansive as I dive into the Rolling Stones, more Dylan and the Beatles. I’m very excited about it.

Overall 1963 was an interesting year. Bob Dylan released my favorite work of the year. I definitely think The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan is an excellent album and some of the songs will enter my permanent playlists. The Beatles released two albums I had mixed feelings about but the second was better than the first and I love the direction they are heading in. Still I think this is all just set up for the late ’60’s when a ton of new rock music will be unleashed on the masses. This journey shall be epic!

 

One response to “The Journey Back Entry 3: The Beatles Write Songs! Joan doesn’t…

  1. Neil Young says that the first song he ever performed in public was Money (That’s What I Want), based on The Beatles’ version, in a high school cafeteria. So in a sense you’re channeling Neil too! And before you leave ’63 for good, let me send you the six songs that Neil put out from his first, Canada-only band, The Squires. I love them so maybe you will too!

What do you think?