Song of the Day 09/09/12: Dresden Dolls – Delilah

For some reason I’ve been humming “Delilah” a lot in my head lately, so I thought, “Why not make it a song of the day?”  This is a very emotional song and it always tugs at my heart strings.  I’m a huge fan of Amanda Palmers lyrics.  Everyone knows someone like Delilah.  That friend of yours in a messy relationship who constantly breaks up with their horrible boyfriend and swears they will never go back, only to start dating again a week later expecting less violent results.  In the song, Amanda tells Delilah this is the last time.  If she goes back to him again, Amanda won’t help her next time.  In an extra special Amanda Palmer twist (the reason I love her so much), Amanda has admitted that the song is actually about herself.  It just adds that extra layer of depth I always search for in her songs.  I love the part where the drums crash in around 2:20 as Amanda’s emotions start to well up.  Go get the album if you like the song.  And all the Dresden Dolls albums, and all of Amanda’s solo work.  It is all amazing.

What do you think?