Song of the Day 09/03/12: Dream Theater – Beyond This Life

So, I’m getting a record player in the mail that was hand-painted by Amanda Palmer.  Obviously,  I’m really excited about it.  What does that have to do with Dream Theater?  Last year, their masterpiece concept album, Scenes From a Memory, was released on vinyl!  Nice!  In preparation, I share this 11 and a half minute juggernaut of a song.  The album’s concept mostly revolves around the murder that is described in this powerful track.  It was the first track I fell in love with on the album.  I feel like every song on this album is super fun to sing-a-long to.  If you like progressive metal and you’ve never heard this album… Just… WHY!?!  For those who aren’t knowledgable of Dream Theater, I think this may be a good intro track since it showcases the variety in their sound.

What do you think?