Song of the Day 08/14/12: Akeboshi – Wind

Since I’ve been discovering a lot of new Japanese visual kei music, I’ve been going back and listening to some of my older j-rock and pop collection.  And I remembered this jem.  Definitely very far and away from visual kei.  This sounds more like a Japanese, folksy Coldplay.  Akeboshi actually sings in English (or should I say engrish?) which, I think, in his case adds to his charm.  Like most people, I discovered this song as a theme from the anime Naruto.  In Japan, if your song becomes an opening or ending theme to a popular anime it’s almost a guarenteed hit.  What shocked me today is that as much as I love “Wind”, I never actually attained any of Akeboshi’s albums.  I think it was because at the time I discovered him, there were no albums.  Still, I just obtained some new albums and I hope they’re really good, so I can share one of his newer songs on this site.  For now, here’s “Wind”.

What do you think?