Song of the Day 07/25/12: Wild Child – The Tale of You and Me

If I had to pick one album to define my first 6 months living in Michigan, it would have to be Wild Child’s Pillow Talk.  “The Tale of You and Me” is the first track I heard off the album and I fell deeply in love.  I love how folksy it is and the dueling male and female vocals.  It’s kind of like a more folksy version of the Civil Wars.  And yes, I understand that the Civil Wars are folk music.  That’s how folksy this music is!  The two vocalists love to sing the same lyrics at the same time, but replacing the pronouns as they sing the song to each other.  My favorite part of this song happens a little after three minutes in, when the song breaks down.  All these people start having this crazy party in the background and then they all join together for a sing-a-long chorus.  This entire album did not stop playing from my car for two months straight.  I put it away for a while, but now that I’ve started up the Song of the Day again, it would be a crime not to post this song.

What do you think?