Song of the Day 12/29/10: Rise Against – Survive

For some reason, this version has like a minute of silence at the end.  Sorry.

I first heard Rise Against at a Billy Talent show.  Most energetic show I ever went to!  I just moshed with my friend, Kenny, the whole time.  So awesome!  Anyways, I love “Survive” because after an extremely difficult break up a few years back, I was driving around one day and this came on.  And I just started laughing at how amazing it was.  First of all, it has a totally kickass intro.  Second of all, it has the best survival lyrics!  I started laughing as he yelled out:

All smiles and sunshine, a perfect world on a perfect day
Everything always works out, I have never felt so fucking great!

I love it because the tone of the lyrics does not hint, at all, that he believes this at the moment of singing it.  But it’s a drive to survive.  He gets it out, and I dont know if it made him feel better, but I know it made me feel better to sing along.  When life gets you down, listen to “Survive”, because how we survive is what makes us who we are.

What do you think?