Song of the Day 12/26/10: Linkin Park – The Little Things Give You Away

I’ve always loved Linkin Park.  The first album will remain one of the best albums of all time, in my head.  After their second album, I still loved them, but I asked for something different.  For the third album I hoped for something more mature.  Something that went deeper than just break up songs.  While Minutes to Midnight isn’t perfect, “The Little Things Give You Away”  really touched me.  It is  powerful, it has an awesome solo, and it isn’t about love!  This is a song for New Orleans.  It’s a cry against the Bush administration for what happened there, and I think what I love most about it is that it doesn’t come from a place of hate, but of pain.  The chorus is so light and fluttery, but the meaning behind it is a punch in the gut. “All that you ever wanted was someone to truly look up to you, and now six feet under water I do.”  Beautiful.  Please, please Linkin Park, make more music like this.

What do you think?