Song of the Day 12/16/10: Florence and the Machine – Drumming Song

If you don’t know Florence and the Machine, then you need to listen to this!  Actually the story of how I discovered Florence is pretty funny.  I was in Wendy’s and I saw a video for her song, “Dog Days”, across the room.  The problem was, the song had no audio, and I was so far away I couldn’t read the artist’s name.  All I saw was this crazy red headed woman dancing around, and these angels with harps, and these guys banging on tribal drums, and these asian painted ladys.  Ok, so as you can imagine, after watching a video like that, I was really interested to find out what the song sounded like!  But how do you find a band based on a really bizarre video??  I looked everywhere and asked everyone I knew, and no one else had ever seen the video.  Finally I thought, ok, how many red headed female singers can there really be???  So I just started going through every female red headed artist, until I finally stumbled upon the video, and this is after I had passed up Florence once, as not being the band.  Anyways, the point is after MONTHS of looking for this song, you’d think my expectations would be so high that no song could be good enough to meet them.  I was wrong!!  “Dog Days” was AMAZING!  I immediately downloaded the album and discovered that it was a whole world of amazingly blended tunes, and “Drumming Song” came out as my favorite.  So that’s how we get to “Drumming Song”.  It’s about drums.  And how their awesome.  Oh, and watch the music world, because Florence and the Machine is the next big thing.

What do you think?