Current Obsession 03/31/2014: Ear Busting Levels of Brostep Part 1: Knife Party

Its funny because I retooled my song of the day as current obsession but “Current” is difficult to lock down. Its not so much things I’m listening to only this moment or as of this moment, its more things that I “currently” feel like shouting out joy for.

The inspiration for this series of articles is that it is requested the most. There is just SO much electronic music out there and people dont have the time to sift through it for the good stuff. Everyone knows that I’m obsessive about this so I constantly get asked for recommendations on this set of genres. I’ve been a fan of that Skrillex level of obnoxious transformer bass filled body shaking wonder ever since I heard his remix of Benny Benassi’s “Cinema”. Ā Today I just wanted to highlight some artists I’ve been listening to a lot since then for people who are in the small group of human beings with robot ears. These are in no particular order and some of them have been highlighted in the past.Ā Despite the title, not all of these artists are strictly defined by one form of EDM, I just think if you like one, you’ll probably like the others.

KNIFE PARTY:

If you havent heard of this australian DJ duo before, they basically sound like a mashup of Skrillex and early Deadmau5 filtered though Optimus Prime’s engines. They first appeared on my radar due to their insanely addictive stalker song “Internet Friends”, a true brostep classic that at times hits what I call the “Nine Inch Nails sweet spot”. Oh and for all those Deftones fans out there, they are indeed named after the song off of Ā White Pony. Basically I’m going to try and only a mention a few songs without getting carried away. If you like these, there are plenty more where they came from.

Internet FriendsĀ – Something about that robotic female voice repeating these ridiculous phrases of stalker crazy always makes me laugh. Still, it isnt until they use that cell phone ring in their build that the song truly hits its stride complete with door knocking and creepy horror music. Plus who can ever forget the line “You blocked me on Facebook… And now youre going to die!” The real show stopper for me though is at 2:13 when they brought back all my early memories of Nine Inch Nails. That little section that keeps coming back throughout the song is the true hook.

Fire Hive –Ā The obviously Reggae influence aside (which is super awesome), the song really capitalizes on that transformers morphing sound. I also recommend the Tristram remix which focuses on my favorite moment in the song, this little carnival like sound that when put on loop in the remix with a different beat brought back memories of the town of Zozo in Final Fantasy VI for some reason.

BonfireĀ –Ā Another Reggae influenced track, this one is definitely more traditionally danceable. It actually really reminds me of something Tom Morello of Rage against the Machine would write which is funny because he is actually a huge fan of the band

Tourniquet –Ā Something about this song really reminds me of Deadmau5’s “Ghosts and Stuff”. That is not a bad thing.

EDM Death MachineĀ – This one is kind of a sequel to “Internet Friends” in my mind with a similar robot talking sound and a non-traditional sounding build before the absolutely insane lazer machine gun on rapid fire wub-wub of its insane drop.

What do you think?